Love of Neighbour

“This rough world sometimes needs to be rebuked, and if we can get at the ears of the people, it is our business to reprove them; and I think if ever there was a time when this text needed to be enlarged upon, it is just now. It is so often forgotten, so seldom remembered, ‘Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.’

‘Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.’ – We can split it into three parts. Whom am I to love? My neighbour. What am I to do? I am to love him. How am I to do it? I am to love him as myself.” – Charles Spurgeon

Something to reflect on: a) Who is your ‘neighbour’? and b) What might be the practical implications of loving neighbour as yourself?

Every blessing, in Jesus Christ
Word of Hope Ministries

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Just-A-Thought

Life can get very busy, fast and heavy. Sometimes living can become a challenge as life seems to always throw us at the deep end. In times like that, we need encouragement, a word of hope, a voice that assures that it gets better; that we should hang on. Just-A-Thought offers Christian words of hope in dispair, light in darkness, and strength to carry on.

3 responses to “Love of Neighbour”

  1. speakpeacealways says :

    I think one of the toughest things we can learn to do, but also one of the most loving things we can do, is to speak the truth in love. Unfortunately, it is also the most painful thing to do as well, as it invites rejection and scorn.
    Lord teach me to speak the truth in love, and give me a heart that is teachable when others speak the truth in love to me.

  2. Just-A-Thought says :

    One thing I’ve learnt though is that truth, even when spoken in love can hurt very deeply. However, it produces lasting fruits of growth, with time. Our duty of love then is to ask The Lord to give us hearts that a quick to the prompting of His Spirit on when and how to speak truth.

Leave a Reply

